Teaching school alliances are led by a designated teaching school and include schools that benefit from support, as well as strategic partners who lead various aspects of training and development.

Big 6 - The 6 core areas of responsibility of a teaching school (ITT, leadership, CPD, School to School support, SLEs, R&D)

NCTL Modular Leadership Curriculum - The NCTL leadership curriculum is a range of tiered national qualifications and study modules that are designed to give more choice in professional development. The NCTL leadership curriculum is an innovative approach to leadership development designed to support leaders at every stage of their career. It includes the NPQH, NQPSL and NPQML.

NPQH - National Professional Qualification of Headship

NPQSL - National Professional Qualification of Senior Leadership

NPQML - National Professional Qualification of Middle Leadership

ITP - Improving Teacher Programme licensed by Olevi

OTP - Outstanding Teacher Programme licensed by Olevi

CEBA - Certificate in Education Business Adminstration

OTAP - Outstanding Teaching Assistant Programme

NQT - Newly Qualified Teacher

NQT+1 - Newly Qualified Teacher in their second year of teaching

Schools Direct - School led Initial Teacher Training scheme. It gives schools control over recruitment and training their own teachers.

HEI - Higher Education Institute

Master Class - Targeted continued professional development

System Leadership - Are people who support at schools outside their own

SLE - Specialist Leader of Education

LLE - Local Leader of Education

NLE - National Leader of Education